Sunday Morning – Blog time!

Patchwork Pottery – Quilted craft and afternoon tea with Laurraine Yuyama:-

“I found this little crane lying in the corner on the floor of my craftroom looking all lonely. It was my prototype and the first crane I paper-pieced using my CraneStar pattern.

I decided to turn it into a little quilt to showcase that first crane. Right now I’m not certain if I will just bind it and leave it as a mini quilt or quilt some back panels and turn it into a pillow like the original CraneStar pattern. If I sew another single crane block, I would position the crane a bit lower. I will eventually add this mini quilt as a free pattern extra on my blog so that those who have the pattern will have another fun option :o)

I designed the free-motion quilting pattern in the blue border to mimic the flowers in the fabric I used for the crane. I love how it turned out (even more-so on the back) and would like to do it again on a solid border! The red thread on cream is nice.

Mr. Scruffy is critically eyeing the lonely crane quilt but I think he likes it because he ended up falling asleep on it!

Enjoy your afternoon tea & quilted crafts :o)”

Catch up with Laurraine’s blog at http://patchworkpottery.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

